NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES TO ASSESS PROGRESS MADE IN ACHIEVING CLEAN MUNICIPAL AUDIT OUTCOMES BY 2014

13 Apr 2012

The permanent delegates to the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) will, in terms of the programme call the provincial week and return to their provinces from 17 to 20 April to assess progress that municipalities are making in achieving clean audit outcomes by 2014.

The theme for the April provincial week is operation clean audit 2014: Advancing our collective efforts to strengthen our municipalities to deliver quality services to our people.

The oversight visits will focus on what municipalities are doing to implement effective governance structures and systems to achieve clean audits. Issues that will come under the spotlight include:

- Financial management and internal controls against irregular expenditure and under-spending by municipalities
- Irregular, fruitless, wasteful or unauthorised expenditure
- Requisite management personal i.e. municipal manager, financial officer, audit committee, requisite personnel, etc.
- Number of incomplete / stalled / abandoned projects and amounts of funds lost Compliance with audit processes and the law
- The NCOP comprises of 90 delegates, 54 of which are permanent delegates (six from each of the nine provinces) and 36 of which are special delegates (four from each of the nine provinces).

Below, please find details of specific visits to the provinces.

General enquiries

Zama Mvulane: 083 658 0267 Khuthala Noah: 083 620 0652

Enquiries about provinces listed below:

Eastern Cape - Temba Gubula: 078 735 8809 Free State - Modise Kabedi: 082 077 4682 Gauteng - Elijah Moholola: 083 981 7770 Limpopo - Foster Mohale: 072 432 3792

Northern Cape – Sakhile Mokoena: 082 364 3633 Western Cape – Mlindi Mpindi: 073 197 1315

The provincial delegations will visit the following municipalities in the nine provinces:

Eastern Cape

- Amathole District Municipality on 17 April at the New Council Chamber in East London
- OR Tambo District Municipality on 18 April at the OR Tambo District Municipality offices
- Chris Hani District Municipality on 18 April at the Chris Hani District Municipality offices

Free State

- Lejweleputswa District Municipality on 17 April at the Lejweleputswa District Municipality offices
- Thabo Mofutsanyane District Municipality 18 April at the Thabo Mofutsanyane District Municipality offices
- Matjhabeng Local Municipality on 18 April at the Matjhabeng Local Municipality Offices

Gauteng

- Sedibeng District on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng
- Emfuleni Municipality on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng
- Midvaal Municipality on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng
- Mogale City Municipality on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng
- Randfontein Local Municipality on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng; and
- City of Johannesburg Municipality on 17 April at the Civil Theater at Sedibeng

KwaZulu-Natal

- Zululand District Municipality on 17 April at the Council Chamber, Abaqulusi Local Municipality in Vryheid
- Edumbe Local Municipality on 18 April at the Council Chamber eDumbe Local Municipality in Paulpitersburg
- Uphongolo Local Municipality at the Council Chambers uPhongolo Municipality

Limpopo

- Waterberg District Municipality on 17 April at the Mookgopong Local Municipality
- Bela-Bela Local Municipality on 18 April at the Bela-Bela Local Municipality offices
- Mopani District Municipality on 18 April at the Bophalaborwa Local Municipality

Mpumalanga

- Pixley KaSeme Municipality on 18 April at Pixley KaSeme Municipality Offices
- Dipaleseng Local Municipality on 19 April at the Dipaliseng Local Municipality

Northern Cape

- Pixley ka-Seme District Municipality on 17 April at the Pixley ka-Seme District Municipality
 offices
- Umsobomvu Local Municipality on 17 and 18 April at the Umsobomvu Municipality offices
- Kareeberg Local Municipality on 17 April at the Kareeberg Municipality offices
- Ubuntu Local Municipality on 19 April at the Ubuntu Local Municipality offices

North West

- Lekwa-Teemane Local Municipality on 18 April at the Christiana Council Chambers in Lekwa Teemane Local Municipality offices.
- Mamusa Local Municipality on 18 April at the Christiana Council Chambers in Lekwa Teemane Local Municiplaity offices
- Ngakamodiri Molema District Municipality on 19 April at Taung Tusk
- Ratlow Local Municipality on 19 April at Taung Tusk

Western Cape

- Overberg District Municipality on 17 April at the Caledon Spa
- Swellendam Municipality on 18 April at the Swellendam Municipality
- Cape Agulhas Municipality on 18 April at the Cape Agulhas Municipality offices in Bredasdorp
- Overstrand Municipality on 19 April at the Overstrand Local Municipality
- Theewaterskloof Municipality, including Grabouw, which is an area that recently experienced racial tensions and violent community protests.

Issued by: <u>Parliament of South Africa</u> 13 April 2012